IPC Announces Eight 2013 Leadership Award Recipients - Anthony Nex, APA Member Honored With Award

May 29, 2013   Entertainment News
(PRLEAP.COM) NEW YORK, NEW YORK, March 29, 2013 The International Photographic Council (IPC), a non-governmental organization (NGO) of the United Nations, announced the recipients of its 2013 IPC Professional Photographer Leadership Awards and named American Photographic Artists member Anthony Nex as a recipient. The award recipients were honored at the 15th Annual IPC Pro Award Luncheon, held at the United Nations in New York City on Wednesday, May 22, at 11:30 a.m.

"It was an easy choice for the executive board to choose Anthony Nex as our recipient for the International Photographic Council's Leadership Award," says APA President Theresa Raffetto. "I have had the pleasure of working with Anthony for the past 5 years, and have experienced firsthand his generosity and business savvy. He is a true leader, and integral to the growing success of our LA Chapter and APA as a whole, and I'm pleased to have him represent APA for this award."

In annual IPC tradition, the IPC Awards Luncheon kicked off "May, International Professional Photography Month," recognizing professionals from around the world. "The winners, nominated by professional photography organizations including the APA, are selected because they best represent the groups' criteria and ideals," says IPC President James Chung.

Award Luncheon Chair Andy Marcus, President of Fred Marcus Photography, discussed "The World of Professional Photographers." IPC President James Chung welcomed the group. IPC Vice Presidents Kathy Schneider and Alice Miller interviewed each honoree to find out what drives their passion for their work in photography, how their businesses have adapted to the changes in the photo industry, and their favorite photography products.

Eight associations have designated honorees for the 2013 IPC Leadership Award: American Photographic Artists (APA), American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP), Federation of European Photographers (FEP), National Press Photographers Association (NPPA), Professional Photographers of America (PPA), Professional School Photographers Association (PSPA), White House News Photographers Association (WHNPA), and Wedding & Portrait Photographers International (WPPI).

The 2013 IPC Professional Photographer Leadership Award recipients are:

  • American Photographic Artists (APA): Anthony Nex
  • American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP): Shawn Henry
  • Federation of European Photographers (FEP): Neil Warner
  • National Press Photographers Association (NPPA): Michelle McLoughlin
  • Professional Photographers of America (PPA): Don Dickson
  • Professional School Photographers Association (PSPA): John Rak
  • White House News Photographers Association (WHNPA): Charles Dharapak
  • Wedding & Portrait Photographers International (WPPI): Cliff Mautner

  • Anthony Nex has a large commercial studio in Los Angeles, with a prestigious clientele including Disney, Sony, Microsoft, Citibank, Fox, and MGM. Originally specializing in still life, his assignments have ranged from Ndebele children in South Africa to motor homes in Kentucky, from glass factories in Pennsylvania to reef sharks in the South Pacific. Anthony finds his work with children for commercial clients captivates him the most. As co-chairman of the Los Angeles Chapter of APA, he helps photographers on the rise bring their vision to a global audience.

    About The International Photographic Council (IPC)

    The International Photographic Council (IPC) (www.ipc-un-ngo.org) is a multinational, non-profit, non-governmental organization (NGO) of the United Nations, composed of representatives from every major sector of the photographic industry. Founded in 1974, IPC is dedicated to increasing worldwide recognition of photography as a universal means of communication. IPC's motto is "Peace Through Understanding, Understanding Through Photography, the Universal Language."

    About American Photographic Artists (APA)

    The American Photographic Artists (APA) (www.apanational.com) is a photographers association and leading American organization run by photographers for photographers, as well as other photographic professionals. With a culture that promotes a spirit of mutual cooperation, sharing and support, APA offers outstanding benefits, educational programs and essential business resources to help its members achieve their professional and artistic goals. This includes all levels of the photography profession. Headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia and now merged with Editorial Photographers (EP), APA has chapters in Atlanta, Los Angeles, the Midwest, New York, San Diego, San Francisco, Charlotte, the Northwest, Colorado and Washington, DC. APA strives to improve the environment for photographic artists and clear the pathways to success in the industry. Recognized for its broad industry reach, APA continues to expand benefits for its members and works to champion the rights of photographers and image-makers worldwide.

    Please contact editor@apanational.com for more information.
    Contact Information
    APA National
    American Photographic Artists, APA National
    Contact Us