Create (!) announces new LP, Remix Contest and Tour Dates

February 13, 2006 (PRLEAP.COM) Entertainment News
A Prospect of Freedom, Create (!)'s first full length album in five years is set for release on March 28th. And one of the album's most meditative tracks, “Six Dreams/Divided”, is being made available track by track for a remix contest. The winner receives a $150 cash prize from Sounds Are Active and a free subscription to all the label's releases in 2006. A panel of guest judges including Dave Longstreth of Dirty Projectors and design wiz Jason Munn (Death Cab For Cutie, Wilco, Sufjan Stevens) and Chris Cantalini of will determine the remix contest winner.

The tracks and the rules are available here:

And the original album track Six Dreams/Divided is available here:

A Prospect of Freedom Tracklist
01. A Prospect Of Freedom
02. Sonny Sharrock
03. When A Single Flower Blooms, It Is Spring Everywhere
04. Circus Hammer
05. Six Dreams/Divided
06. In (Our) Own Backyard
07. Gutei Holds Up A Finger
08. Durindana

A collection of slow burn free jazz improvisations, A Prospect of Freedom is a full length collaboration with Raymond Raposa of Castanets, Lynn Johnston (Red Krayola, Eugene Chadbourne) and Kris Tiner (Empty Cage Quartet, Wadada Leo Smith) in addition to the core trio of longstanding Create (!) members: Justice Constantine, Orlando Greenhill and Chris Schlarb.

Last year Create (!) released a collaborative album of drastically reworked public domain songs with singer Liz Janes on Asthmatic Kitty and the two will embark on a brief tour of the midwest with Half-Handed Cloud this spring:

Tour dates:
March 29 - Champaign, IL @ Canopy Club
March 30 - Chicago, IL @ TBA
March 31 - Grand Rapids, MI @ Calvin College
April 1 - Ann Arbor, MI @ The Halfway Inn
April 2 - Columbus, OH @ High Five
April 4 - Lexington, KY @ Underlying Themes
April 5 - Bloomington, IN @ The Church
April 6 - Muncie, IN @ Village Green
April 7 - Indianapolis, IN @ Big Car Gallery