National Association Announces the AFA’s 25th Annual Semi-Pro Football “Gold Ball Award” Recipients

September 05, 2005 (PRLEAP.COM) Sports News
American Football Association Press Release:
Media - Contact Dave Burch at AFA National Office
(877)624-4485 or (941)388-3510

As part of the AFA's … "September: Semi-Pro Football Awareness Month" - the AFA national association for adult amateur football teams and leagues across the country has released the names of those individuals awarded special recognition for contributions made during last years semi-pro football campaign.

The American Football Association annual “Gold Ball Award” winners for the 2004 semi-pro football season are listed below. Each year the AFA national association honors individuals in several different categories with a special award recognizing the recipients for their outstanding accomplishments during the preceding football season.

Gold Ball Award winners are chosen from among AFA member team players, coaches, officials and executives coast-to-coast. Each award winner in the player categories were also ‘first team’ All-League players from their respected leagues.

2004 “AFA Gold Ball Award” winners will receive special ‘commemorative certificates’ in honor of their accomplishments during the 2004 semi-pro football season.

The following are the AFA Semi-Pro Football “Gold Ball Award” recipients for 2004:

- AFA “Coach of the Year”: Nesby Glasgow - Eastside Washington Hawks – AFA 2004 National Champions
- AFA “Executive of the Year”: Dave Burch - Empire Football League Commissioner - Endicott, New York
- AFA “General Manager of the Year”: George Ashcraft - Watertown New York Red & Black
- AFA “Most Valuable Player of the Year”: Robert Hunt - Quarterback - Detroit Seminoles
- AFA “Offensive Player of the Year”: Scott Lawson - Albany Metro Mallers
- AFA “Defensive Player of the Year”: Tim Wilkins - Virginia Ravens
- AFA “Offensive Lineman of the Year”: Don Cornelius - Cleveland (Ohio) Lions
- AFA “Defensive Lineman of the Year”: DJ Edmonds - Central Virginia Storm
- AFA “Special Teams Player of the Year”: Juan Perez - Milwaukee Venom
- AFA “Silver Toe Award”: Joe Lindway - place kicker - Cleveland Lions
- AFA “Silver Foot Award”: Shawn Wood - punter - Indiana Mustangs
- AFA “Long Snapper Award”: Dennis Morris - Lafayette Lions
- AFA “Official of the Year”: Craig Ochoa - Bartlett, Illinois
- AFA “Woman of the Year”: Mary Lockhart - East Coast Football Alliance Director; Maggie Burrows - Cleveland Lions Executive

- AFA “President's Award”:
· National - Joe Hulsebus - Semi-Pro Football Headquarters (webmaster)
· Dick Leland - AFA Alumni Association - Malta, New York
· Jordan Kopac – AFA Hall of Fame Legends Club - Delavan, Wisconsin
· Northwest Region One - ‘Moose’ Fahey - Bellingham, Washington
· Southwest Region Two - Alex Flores - San Jose, California
· North Central Region Three - Ron Hart - Racine, Wisconsin
· South Central Region Four - Ray Powell- Arlington, Texas
· Midwest Region Five - James Stamper - Kokomo, Indiana
· South East Region Six -Dave Rice - Marco Island, Florida
· North East Region Seven - Mike Britton - Parishville, New York
· Mideast Region Eight -Hal Lockhart - Petersburg,