AMA & AMA Foundation Announce 2011 Parlin Award

August 09, 2011 (PRLEAP.COM) Business News
The Parlin Board of Governors, as an entity of the American Marketing Association (AMA) and the American Marketing Association Foundation (AMAF), announces Steven H. Cohen as the recipient of the 2011 Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award. This award recognizes Cohen's substantial contributions and unwavering dedication to the ongoing advancement of marketing research practice. The Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award ceremony will take place on Tuesday, September 13, 2011, at the AMA Research and Strategy Summit Conference in Orlando, FL.

The Charles Coolidge Parlin Marketing Research Award was established in 1945 by the Philadelphia Chapter of the AMA and The Wharton School in association with the Curtis Publishing Company to honor distinguished academics and practitioners who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and sustained impact on the evolving profession of marketing research over an extended period. Established as a memorial to Charles Coolidge Parlin, recognized as a founder of marketing research and acknowledged for his early benchmarking studies of consumer issues, the Parlin Award is today a preeminent national honor.

Steve Cohen specializes in the design of research, the analysis of marketing data, and the application of marketing science tools to business problems, and has conducted marketing research studies in over 30 countries. In 2006, he jointly founded In4mation Insights.

He started his career as Technical Director at what is now Mercer Management consulting, moved to IRI, started his own firm (Stratford Associates), and then sold that company to Knowledge Networks.

In 1983, Cohen was the first marketing researcher in the USA to use Choice-based Conjoint Analysis (CBCA) and he co-authored the first paper describing Latent Class CBCA (1995). He co-developed multiway segmentation using Latent Class Models in 1996 and he co-developed Menu-based Conjoint Analysis in 2001.

Cohen introduced MaxDiff Scaling to the marketing research world in 2002 and, in 2003, he won the prestigious John and Mary Goodyear Award given by ESOMAR to the Best International Research Paper. This was followed by awards for MaxDiff at the 2003 Sawtooth Software conference and the 2005 David K. Hardin Memorial Award for best paper in AMA's Marketing Research magazine.

He is a two-time nominee for the Paul E. Green Award, given yearly by the AMA and AMAF to papers that show "the most promise of influencing marketing research and research in marketing over the next five years."

The 2011 Charles Coolidge Parlin Award Board of Governors:

Timothy B. Parlin, Esq., Carroll, McNulty & Kull LLC (Chair)
Chuck Chakrapani, Leger Marketing
Dennis Dunlap, American Marketing Association
Tulin Erdem, Leonard N. Stern School of Business, New York University
J. Wesley Hutchinson, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
Michael E. Kullman, DuPont
Donald R. Lehmann, Columbia Business School, Columbia University
A. Dawn Lesh, A. Dawn Lesh International
Marjette M. Stark, Stark Solutions
Joan Treistman, The Treistman Group