Burn Unit at UP's Paediatrician Department Receives a Facelift

December 16, 2013 (PRLEAP.COM) Education News
Johannesburg, South Africa - The newly refurbished Burns Unit, managed by the University of Pretoria's Paediatric Department, was officially opened by Gauteng's MEC for Health, Mr Hope Papo, and the Head of the University of Pretoria's Division of Paediatric Surgery, Dr Ernst Muller.

The Unit accommodates approximately 130 burn patients per year who have been referred mainly from the Tshwane region and the Mpumalanga province. Prior to the extension of the building there was a limitation of space for patients, and one of the challenges the Unit faced was a high infection rate in patients' wounds. The infections happened because patients' wound dressings had to be changed on their beds and this also resulted in an extended hospital stay.

According to Dr Muller, wound infections have been reduced because of a new dedicated room for wound dressing and there is an improved healing rate as well as a shortened hospital stay. Gauteng's MEC for Health, Mr Hope Papo, said the renovated building came as a result of a partnership between his department and the Carte Blanche making a difference Trust, which secured the sponsoring of the refurbishment of the Unit. "This partnership is indeed a social compact in action and also a demonstration that government is committed to working with the private sector and civil society in delivering equal health services," he said.

UP is the leading research university in South Africa and one of the largest in the country. The University has seven campuses as well as a number of other sites of operation, such as the Pretoria Academic Hospital. Central administration is located at the Hatfield Campus. The University of Pretoria offers more than 1 800 academic programmes in two of the official languages, namely Afrikaans and English. (Some programmes and modules are offered only in English.)

In 1996, the University of Pretoria became the university with the highest research output in South Africa and we have maintained this status. The University of Pretoria celebrated its Centenary in 2008. The academic programmes of the University are offered in nine faculties, as well as a business school. The faculties comprise a total of 140 departments and 85 centres, institutes and bureaus. UP is at the forefront of tertiary education in the country and collaborates with world-class partners to ensure continued excellence in learning and teaching. For more information please go to: http://web.up.ac.za/.