American Board of Internal Medicine Announces New Members and Officers on Board of Directors and Council

July 06, 2015 (PRLEAP.COM) Health News
Philadelphia, PA, July 6, 2015 The American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) today announced the new members and officers of its Board of Directors and ABIM Council. Clarence H. Braddock III, MD, has been named Chair of the Board of Directors and Patricia M. Conolly, MD, has been named Chair Elect. In addition, three new physicians will be joining the ABIM Board of Directors: Vineet Arora, MD, Roger W. Bush, MD, and Robert D. Siegel, MD. ABIM also announced that Jeanne M. Marrazzo, MD, has been named Chair of the ABIM Council, which added one new member, Bruce A. Leff, MD.

"Clarence and Jeanne will be leading the American Board of Internal Medicine at an incredible time of change," said Richard J. Baron, MD, President and CEO of ABIM. "All of the new members of ABIM's governance will bring a diverse experience that will inform ABIM's ongoing efforts. I look forward to working with them and am confident that they will help guide our ongoing focus on partnership with the medical community to transform our Maintenance of Certification program."

The ABIM governance structure includes a Board of Directors, a Council and Specialty Boards. Each is composed of physicians who are board certified in internal medicine or one of its subspecialties and who are actively participating in ABIM's Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program.

ABIM Board of Directors

The ABIM Board of Directors oversees the overall strategic direction of the organization. It also supports efforts to make MOC and the Certification credential relevant and valuable to the broader health care community and to all the internists who participate in it. Per ABIM bylaws, a majority of physician board members must have current clinical practice experience.

New ABIM Board officers announced today include:
  • Chair of the Board, Clarence H. Braddock III, MD, Vice Dean for Education, David Geffen School of Medicine, University of California, Los Angeles, California. In this position, he oversees all aspects of medical education, including undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate medical programs. Dr. Braddock has been a national leader in medical education, particularly in bioethics. In his role as new ABIM Chair, he will also serve as an ABIM Foundation Trustee. He is board certified in Internal Medicine. The Chair serves a two year term.
  • Chair-Elect, Patricia M. Conolly, MD, Associate Executive Director of The Permanente Medical Group (TPMG) in Oakland, California. In her current role, she oversees laboratory services in Kaiser Permanente's Northern California region and leads TPMG's technology group, which includes development, oversight and support of technology tools to assist its members and clinicians in transforming and optimizing health care delivery. She is also a member of the ABIM Internal Medicine Board Exam Committee. She is board certified in Internal Medicine.
  • Secretary, David L. Coleman, MD, the John Wade Professor and Chair, Department of Medicine, Boston University School of Medicine and Physician-In-Chief at Boston Medical Center, Boston, Massachusetts. His recent work has focused on medical professionalism in medical education and clinical research. Dr. Coleman is also a member of the ABIM Internal Medicine Board Exam Committee and serves on the council of the Association of Professors of Medicine. He is board certified in Internal Medicine and Infectious Disease.
  • Treasurer, Sonia A. Madison, MS, President, Madison Consulting, Williamstown, New Jersey. Ms. Madison is the former Senior Vice President for Public Policy for AmeriHealth Mercy Family of Companies (AMFC) and the former Senior Advisor to the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (Non-Physician Member)

  • "ABIM faces numerous challenges and opportunities today that we must work together with the medical community to address. I am committed to working across ABIM governance and with physicians in practice, in academia and in leadership positions to ensure we are creating programs and offerings that physicians are proud of," said Dr. Braddock.

    New ABIM Board members announced today include:
  • Vineet Arora, MD, Assistant Dean of Scholarship and Discovery, and Director of Graduate Medical Education Clinical Learning Environment and Innovation, University of Chicago; Director of Educational Initiatives at Costs of Care, Chicago, Illinois. She is board certified in Internal Medicine.
  • Roger W. Bush, MD, Founding Program Director, Billings Clinic Internal Medicine Residency, Billings, Montana; Member of ABIM's Internal Medicine Board. He is board certified in Internal Medicine with a Focused Practice in Hospital Medicine.
  • Robert D. Siegel, MD, Oncology Program Director, Bon Secours St. Francis Health System, Greenville, South Carolina; Member of ABIM's Medical Oncology Board. For 24 years prior to his appointment at Bon Secours, Dr. Siegel was a community-based oncologist. He is board certified in Internal Medicine, Hematology and Medical Oncology.

  • ABIM Council
    The ABIM Council guides the policies and procedures for Certification and MOC in all of the disciplines of internal medicine. The Council's responsibilities are to ensure the quality, relevance and effectiveness of ABIM's programs across all the specialties of internal medicine.

    New ABIM Council officer announced today:
  • Chair of the ABIM Council, Jeanne M. Marrazzo, MD, Professor of Medicine in the Division of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, University of Washington, and Director of the Seattle STD/HIV Prevention Training Center, Seattle, Washington; Chair of ABIM's Infectious Disease Board. She is board certified in Infectious Disease.

  • "As new chair of the ABIM Council, I will continue to engage physicians in internal medicine and its subspecialties to be responsive to their input about ABIM's Certification and MOC programs," said Dr. Marrazzo. "ABIM has already announced a number of significant outcomes from its work to make immediate changes to its MOC program, including updating the Fall 2015 Internal Medicine MOC exam to reflect what physicians in practice are doing and accepting more forms of ACCME-approved continuing medical education for MOC credit to recognize work physicians are already engaged in to stay current."

    New ABIM Council member announced today:
  • Bruce A. Leff, MD, Professor of Medicine, Division of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland; Chair of ABIM's Geriatric Medicine Board. He is board certified in Internal Medicine and Geriatric Medicine.

  • About ABIM
    For more than 75 years, certification by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) has stood for the highest standard in internal medicine and its 20 subspecialties and has meant that internists have demonstrated to their peers and to the public that they have the clinical judgment, skills and attitudes essential for the delivery of excellent patient care. ABIM is not a membership society, but a non-profit, independent evaluation organization. Our accountability is both to the profession of medicine and to the public. ABIM is a member of the American Board of Medical Specialties. For additional updates, follow ABIM on Facebook and Twitter. ABIM is committed to engaging the internal medicine community so that its programs reflect what physicians in practice today are doing. Subscribe to the ABIM blog for updates and to learn about opportunities to provide input and take part in this work.

    Share Article