CHEA Announces New, Returning Board Members For 2007 - 2010

May 12, 2007 (PRLEAP.COM) Education News
Washington — The Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) has announced that six new members will be joining its board of directors and two existing board members are returning. Of these eight members, seven will serve a three-year term, and one will complete two years of an unexpired term. These changes will take effect in July 2007.

The new board members are:

- Caesar Andrews, executive editor of the Detroit Free Press
- David G. Carter, chancellor of the Connecticut State University System
- Scott Cowen, president of Tulane University
- Loren Crabtree, chancellor of the University of Tennessee
- Madlyn L. Hanes, chancellor of Penn State Harrisburg
- Karen Morse, president of Western Washington University

The returning board members are:

- Paula Peinovich, president of Walden University
- John D. Wiley, chancellor of the University of Wisconsin (Wiley is also the chair of CHEA’s board)

“We feel very fortunate to have these distinguished higher education and business leaders as part of CHEA,” said Judith Eaton, president of CHEA. Eaton went on to say, “ … these new members join the CHEA board at a challenging time for accreditation. CHEA will benefit from their wise counsel and dedication to the highest standards of academic quality.”

There will be 20 board members in total after these changes take effect, with the membership composed of chief executive officers from degree-granting institutions, joined by other institutional representatives and public members. The board meets three times per year; most of the meetings take place in Washington.

A national advocate and institutional voice for self-regulation of academic quality through accreditation, CHEA is an association of 3,000 degree-granting colleges and universities and recognizes 60 institutional and programmatic accrediting organizations. For more information, visit CHEA’s Web site at

- 30 -