Campus Compact Elects Five New Board Members to Lead Civic Engagement Efforts

July 11, 2007 (PRLEAP.COM) Education News
Providence, RI Campus Compact is pleased to announce the appointment of five new members to its Board of Directors, with terms beginning in July. Campus Compact's Board guides the organization in implementing its mission of deepening higher education's ability to improve community life and educate students for civic and social responsibility. The Board comprises a distinguished group of college and university presidents and chancellors, business leaders, and foundation executives.

"In addition to being strong leaders, the newest members of the Board represent a diverse group of people close to higher education and civic engagement," says Maureen F. Curley, President of Campus Compact. "Each of our new Board members rises from a leadership background, has earned the respect of his or her peers, and has extensive experience guiding an organization."

Dr. Warrick L. Carter, President of Columbia College in Chicago, is an accomplished educator, composer, and performer. Berklee College of Music established a lecture series in his name, and in 1996 Walt Disney Entertainment Endowed a Warrick L. Carter Scholarship in the International Association of Jazz Educators.

Dr. Shirley Ann Jackson is the president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in New York. A theoretical physicist, she has taught at Rutgers University and conducted research at the former AT&T Bell Laboratories.

Dr. JoAnn W. Haysbert, president of Langston University in Langston, Oklahoma, has dedicated her life to higher education. She has held positions at the University of Hampton, Virginia State University, Auburn University, and Alexander City State Junior College and has studied at Johnson C. Smith University, Auburn University, California State University in San Jose, and Harvard University.

Dr. Alex Johnson is chancellor of Delgado Community College in New Orleans. He serves on several boards, including the Council for the Advancement of Experiential Learning and the American Council on Education and the Commission on Research of the American Association of Community Colleges.

John M. Sirek is the citizenship program director at the McCormick Tribune Foundation. He leads grant-making activities for the foundation's Citizenship Program as well as the McCormick Tribune Conference Series. He is board president of PACE: Philanthropy for Active Civic Engagement and a board member of the TimeLine Theatre Company and City Year Chicago. Complete biographical profiles of the Campus Compact Board of Directors is available online at