College and University Presidents Unite to Create South Carolina Campus Compact

September 18, 2007 (PRLEAP.COM) Education News
Charleston, SC — The presidents of 16 South Carolina higher education institutions have joined together to form South Carolina Campus Compact, part of a national coalition of more than 1,000 colleges and universities that are committed educating the next generation of responsible citizens. These presidents have pledged to create and sustain civic engagement, service-learning, and community service initiatives that provide South Carolina college students with the skills needed to be active citizens in their local communities, the state, the nation, and the world.

By sharing information and collaborating state-wide, South Carolina Campus Compact's goals are to increase collaboration between campus and community, integrate service into college and university curricula, and facilitate volunteerism in the state.

"This is an outstanding milestone on the path to reinforcing an engaged society in South Carolina," states Maria Monteiro, program and affiliate director at Campus Compact's national office. "South Carolina has joined a vibrant national network that now includes 32 state affiliates. These affiliates provide on-the-ground training and resources, help develop local community ties, and work with students, faculty, and staff at member campuses to gauge and meet needs."

South Carolina Campus Compact will be hosted at the College of Charleston in Charleston, SC. A search committee is being organized to find the first executive director of the office.

Serving on South Carolina Campus Compact's inaugural board of directors are presidents P. George Benson, College of Charleston (Chair); Anne S. Crook, Orangeburg-Calhoun Technical College; David A. DeCenzo, Coastal Carolina University; Anthony J. DiGiorgio, Winthrop University; and Andrew Hugine, Jr, South Carolina State University. The organization's other founding members are Benedict College, Charleston Southern University, Clafin University, Clemson University, Francis Marion University, Lander University, Newberry College, the University of South Carolina Aiken, the University of South Carolina Beaufort, the University of South Carolina Salkehatchie, and the University of South Carolina Upstate.

Campus Compact

An independent, nonprofit association under the umbrella of Brown University, Campus Compact is a national coalition of more than 1,000 college and university presidents — representing some 6 million students — who are committed to fulfilling the civic purposes of higher education. As the only national association dedicated to this mission, Campus Compact is a leader in building civic engagement into campus and academic life. For more information, visit